You are here

Back to top

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel (Paperback)

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

August 2020 Indie Next List


“I don’t have enough superlatives to do this book justice. Everything is spot on, from the chemistry between the main characters to the telenovela drama to the meddling but supportive cousins. I love all the Spanish, the backstage glimpses into the making of a TV show (especially the inclusion of the intimacy coordinator), and the way the telenovela tropes, like a secret child, are woven into the grounded romance. Now I just hope Michelle and Ava get their own books soon!”
— Cecilia Cackley, East City Bookshop, Washington, DC

Description


National Bestseller

"I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine--her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self-doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn't want the book to end!"--Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient. You Had Me at Hola is a New York Times Editor's Choice Pick, an O Magazine Best Romance Pick and on many more Best Of lists!

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

About the Author


Alexis Daria writes stories about successful Latinx characters and their (occasionally messy) familias. Her debut Take the Lead won the 2018 RITA® Award for “Best First Book” and her latest release, You Had Me at Hola, is a national bestseller, Target Diverse Book Club Pick, and New York Times Editor’s Choice Pick. Alexis is a lifelong New Yorker who loves Broadway musicals and pizza.   

Praise For…


"The buildup here is exquisite. Jasmine and Ashton slowly grow closer until the reader is aching for them to just go for it already. A solid 7.5 on the angst scale, and an absolutely pitch-perfect summer escape."
New York Times Book Review

"I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine -- her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn't want the book to end!"
— Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author

“I was completely smitten with Daria’s “Primas of Power…You Had Me at Hola reject[s] the idea that women can only exist as each other’s competition, and propose that, on the contrary, a happy ending is always sweeter if you have your friends to celebrate with; that’s the kind of feminism I want in all my romance.”
Washington Post

“Hola is a triumph of Latinx joy and feminist agency. It thoughtfully explores gender roles and diversity in entertainment and the greater Latinx community, and challenges the Hollywood status quo.”
— NPR.org

"Soapy, smart and so sexy...with vibrant characters and electric chemistry comparable to the telenovelas that inspired it, you’ll be thrilled You Had Me At Hola doesn’t come with commercials!"
— Sarah MacLean, New York Times bestselling author

“There’s a defiant joy in these pages: a proud proclamation of not only finding, but celebrating your voice and honoring the rare spaces that welcome that. You Had Me at Hola is just such a space – a vibrant, bold jolt of romantic electricity.”
Entertainment Weekly

"Jasmine and Ashton are sure to be your favorite new literary couple, thanks to their sizzling chemistry and will-they-or-won't-they tension in this swoonworthy rom-com we're totally expecting Netflix to bring to our screens in the near future."
— E! Online

"Sexy, compelling, and complex—a terrific romance from a rising star of the genre." 
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Daria delivers a sexy showbiz love affair in this steamy rom-com... Daria breathes effortless life into a cast of messy, loving, talented, and downright hilarious characters readers will adore. A sense of Latinx culture and pride exudes from every page, elevating an already entertaining story. Romance fans won’t want to miss this."
Publishers Weekly

"RITA Award-winning Daria has created extremely smart and appealing characters, and the scenes of their shooting the show are delicious fun. Fans of Susan Elizabeth Philips will enjoy the humor and chemistry Daria whips up."
Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062959928
ISBN-10: 0062959921
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: August 4th, 2020
Pages: 384
Language: English